Manchester Piccadilly Station

Set off for Manchester on the 12.12 train from Bearsted, arriving at Piccadilly at 16.45 after several delays and diversions caused by the late arrival of the train in Euston from the previous service and problems on the route which necessitated a diversion. I was able to travel 1st class owing to my choice of train and senior railcard. However, the lounge at Euston was shut and staff were giving out vouchers and food from a table at the bottom of the stairs.

The aircon had failed in the carriage I was travelling in so I was moved to somewhere cooler. Apart from all that, the journey was fine!

The hotel was an Ibis Budget, on the corner of Gt Ancoats Street and Pollard St and was indeed budget. The room echoed as there was no carpet but it was clean and functional.

With the prospect of a long evening in front of me I went for a run along the canals out towards Old Trafford and back. About 6 miles all told I should think. Some parts of the canal route were OK, but most was less than attractive and was pervaded by an interesting smell of human origin.

By the time I got back and showered I was ready for something to eat and drink so trekked back into the city centre to find a Wetherspoons. It was OK but I was glad to get back to the hotel and have a lie down and watch some Commonwealth Games action.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.