Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Stability

Dear Diary,

I visited a friend, one of my first friends when I moved to Maine 19 years ago, who lives on an old farm that has been in her family since 1805. In fact, her family is the only family to live here for over 200 years. That is stability. We are a culture that is constantly on the move. People rarely stay put but not here in Maine it seems.

This is the longest I've ever lived in on place. I sometimes think of moving but something keeps me here. I just read that Maine has the population least likely to relocate of any state in the US. Our state motto is, "The Way Life Should Be". Maybe there is something in the idea of "stability", "staying putness", that is very appealing to me. It reminded me of the monk I talked to in Kentucky last year who had lived at the monastery for over 50 years and had never left in all that time. He was a photographer as well and said he never lacked for inspiration. I think I understand what he was talking about now.

"There's no place like home..."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.