Garden's alive!

I don't need to go far at the moment to get photos of interesting bits of natural history. Just looking closely in the garden usually turns up something interesting. I've been watching these shieldbugs developing on a clump of Hedge Woundwort over the last couple of weeks. They are Eysarcoris fabricii, usually known as the Woundwort Shieldbug, although the larvae have been observed feeding on White Deadnettle as well. These black and white creatures feeding on the seeds of the Woundwort are the final instar stage of the larvae so I can look forward to seeing adults in just a few days time. There are hundreds of these larvae at the moment and little interest from birds as far as I can see, so I wonder if the garden will be over-run with adults.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.