Learning day by day

By EmmaF

ROW 2014

The kids and I went to Rhythms of the World today. It was the first time I had been back to the priory since we got married there over 8 years ago. Boy did it look different!

It was a great day, helped by the weather. We immediately sat and were entranced by Garden City Samba and then we went to watch Yonique on the ICE stage. We saw and the kids loved a folk singer called Kelly Oliver. The last song she sang was about witch trials, which lead to some interesting conversations with Carys after that!

We went to find Ros from The Music Train so that William could show that he was wearing his Music Train t-shirt and be entered into a draw to win a Tuneful Ted. While we were there they both had a play on a violin and a ukulele! Ros's son was playing bass guitar with Blighty Inc on the BBC introducing stage so we headed there. I was glad I had taken ear plugs for the kids as it was very loud, but they were very good, but then I like 'shouty' rock music. When I was putting the ear plugs in William's ears he said "Mummy, why are you putting marshmallows in my ears?!" Love him.

We saw a few more bits of bands, the kids persuaded me to pay an extortionate amount of money for them to go water zorbing! Initially I wasn't going to but Carys suggested that they pay for it from their Christmas/birthday monies and then William suggested that he could have it as one of his treats from his sticker chart and he said that Carys could have one of his other treats and use it for the zorbing! Well I couldn't say no to that could I?

A bit more wandering and a pirate show then we headed home. Two very tired children, but I think they had a good time. I did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.