Flowers...

For my birthday, the FDOBs gave me the gift of giving away some of the money we raised on the trip (starts here if you missed it and you're interested). When it was first suggested, I wasn't sure I knew anyone that I could help, but actually when I sat down and thought about it, there are and what a joy it is.

I've said it before, but I don't really think there is such a thing as true altruism. How can you not feel good about doing something nice for someone else? It thrilled me hugely to be able to send a cheque for £500 to my Sarah's daughter, Jaime and her partner Tom.

Jaime has cerebral palsy and hasn't had it easy growing up, Tom looks after her and Charlie. Jaime is super independent, she works in a nursery looking after other people's kids, and is soon to end her maternity leave and go back to work. I think she's dreading it a little, the thought of leaving Charlie to go to work can't be easy to get used to. They're such great parents and every time I see them, they're doing such a good job. Charlie is a beautiful, bright kid and beams every time he hears their voices or sees them smiling at him. It's lovely to watch.

Tom can't drive and he's been talking about learning for a while so that they're a bit more mobile. They'll get a car through Motability but it costs a lot to learn to drive. To be able to help in a small way because of the efforts we put in on the trip back in April, is just lovely. To see the money helping people we know and love is something pretty special.

It's made my day. Thank you to the FDOBs for cycling all those miles, I'm incredibly proud of you all over again. Thank you for letting me be part of the end result. I'm looking forward to our catch up dinner next weekend. x

Tom is currently doing (and passing!) mock theory tests online!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.