An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Gaudi - in Salisbury??

Monday 28th July

A dull day and tired after the trek from the day before, I wandered, lonely as a Stroller, about Salisbury Cathedral Cloisters, armed with only my very old manual focus Nippon Kogaku 35mm f1.4 lens.

I then moved into the Cathedral interior and found, well, er, this!

Norman Pope's (no, not really Gaudi!) "The Apostles Speaking in Tongues lit by their own Lamps" - yes, one long title!

"These 33 terracotta figures represent a dramatic re-enactment of Pentecost when the Holy Spirit came amongst the Apostles in a 'cloven of fire'"

I just know that you want to look in LARGE!

Situated under the altar and the east stained glass window, except by the time this gets posted, it's now gone! So you can't see it for yourself - hence the Blip...

Lots of Germans did want to see it on the day I was there and so wasn't the easiest shot to get. Not perfect, but not too bad either, for a handheld.

More of these figures to the sides of my shot but limited by the lens I had but in this I liked the contrasting blues in that so-beautiful and elegant window. Out of ones taken, I felt this fitted the 35mm frame best.

Two days of silly amount of walking - today shooting a WW2 Spitfire and ME109, up close, means I can't keep awake. Sorry Kylie, closing the Commonwealth Games, going to have to turn you off... will be back to Blip in the morning, folks...

Just seen on BBC South Today a quick shot of this and it is still up, as of 4th August.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.