'Saturday Night, Sunday Morning...'

After yesterday's musical Blip, I went on to two different venues, for two more bands, Lost At Sea and Innovator.

Of course, I could only show one Blip from all three great acts but on walking the mile and a half back into Salisbury from the final pub, I caught this scene at about 12.30 a.m.

You can see the rain, against the lamp-light and late night revellers leaving the local Weatherspoons (the UK's most popular and frequented chain of pubs), either home in couples, or off to nightclubs.

This was a quick shot, using AF, as my specs were covered in raindrops, the Nikkor G 85mm f1.8 picking out the nearest walking couple. There's a story there - are they going to the fast food takeaway across the road, or to enjoy themselves further (we're all adults here) - and what of the other couple?

The quite high iso, the small amount of post sharpening and fair bit of shadow lightening have all made the image quite 'noisy', which I quite like, creating an underground grittiness about it. In a few year's time, when sensors are so sensitive and 'clean' that noise won't exist, will we look back on such with distaste and disapproval, I wonder?

I could have easily made it mono, but I rather liked the golden glow, more yellow than the usual burnt orange normally found in night-time street-lamp scenes. I also liked the tinges of red reflected in the kerbside from the vehicle's rear lights.

This probably comes under Street photography and have to admit that I probably wouldn't have dared/wanted to take it had I not been put in the mood by having been out enjoying myself on the night as well.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.