Aussiebackhome

By AussieinOz

Don't walk

I just spent a long weekend in Berlin. The main aim of the visit was to see the David Bowie exhibition curated by the V&A. If you get a chance to see it, I say "Go!" I can't describe the experience except to say that for over 2 hours I felt as though I was totally immersed in the man's creative life, both musically and visually. I also had a chance to catch up with a good friend from Dubai which was wonderful. Compared to Prague, Berlin seems overly large. Buildings are huge, streets are wide - there's none of the intimacy of narrow winding lanes that I've become used to. The public transport system is comprehensive, and efficient. And the don't walk signs look like someone holding their arms out to hug you.

On the negative side, there are scammers and my friend's mobile phone was stolen by a very clever 'beggar'. It put a bit of a damper on our trip. I always find it difficult to believe that people can be so unkind.

Sunday morning we spent a lazy morning sitting on the grass in the Tiergarten - absolutely delightful. I don't know if I'll get back to Berlin, but I'm glad I've seen the remains of the Wall, Checkpoint Charlie, the Brandenburg Gate and a host of other sites, and that I've sat in a park.

I'm also incredibly pleased that I got to the Bowie Exhibition :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.