Aussiebackhome

By AussieinOz

Fontana del Papa Torte di Mele

A few years back I spent a wonderful week enjoying a cooking holiday at Fontana del Papa in Italy. One of my favourite recipes was this apple cake. Mine turns out different every time - I mess around with which oil I use, which flour, etc. but what I never mess with is the addition of sambuca! The anise flavour works brilliantly with the apples. Today I walked past the farmers' market at Pankrac and was assailed by the scent of apples. I just had to buy some. They were small, and mainly red, and smelt wonderful. When I got them home I discovered that whatever variety they are, they have a wonderful tart flavour. Inspired by the flavour and smell, I just had to make a torte di mele ... now it's time to cut it :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.