Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Lest We Forget 1914-2014

Today is a momentous day in world history, it is 100 years since the declaration of war which would start the Great War, or the war to end all wars. Sadly that did not prove to be true.

I decided to mark this day and honour those who have fought to protect us over the years. This day last year I blipped the war memorial in my village for the 99th anniversary. This year I decided to drive into Leicester after work to photograph the war memorial in Victoria Park. This memorial was designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens in 1923 and is very similar to his design for the India Gate.

I decided on this picture as I liked the light and shadow cast by the flag on the stonework. Perhaps an analogy of the dark times and the hope that came to people during the war?

I have put a couple more on Flickr

Now to start catching up with journals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.