What a gem!

Today is my last day in Zion National Park in Utah. Was up early to a rather dubious breakfast, this is after having a very 'different' type of Thai meal the evening before, I am not saying it wasn't good food it just wasn't very authentic at all sadly. Perhaps it was a good thing that the day started with a hunger for some sort of achievement. I went to 'The narrows' which is a part of Zion where there are huge cliff faces on either side of a river. You can walk throught the gorge and up the river which is quite cooling and fun. I think this has been my favourite experience of the time away. The river bed is a mix of rocks of all sizes and sand beds. At points the water is very fast flowing and there are deep pockets in the river bed so you have to watch your footing. The park people say you shouldn't go beyond a certain point without walking sticks, plus there was a real danger of flash floods there today because of the weather. All tourists entering were told to be responsible for thier own safety. I saw a couple of people walking along suddenly bob down in the water up to their waists, a woman in her 50s who looked rather shocked and a man in his 40s who laughed it off. At the start of the journey I met this man who was crossing the river back having completed the journey upstream (you can see the water line on his shorts). As he met my eye contact I just blurted out, " Can I take your photo?" he agreed and posed for me. I wish I had asked his name. After taking my photo he very kindly and spontaneously offerred me his walking stick and told me that I would need it to make my way up past the stronger currents in the river if I was to manage the journey safely. He was right, I did need it. What a nice man, what a gem, what a lovely though!

Tomorrow it is back to Las Vegas (no place boked to stay yet- ooopps) and then back to the UK very shortly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.