The Tivoli Theatre

I wonder how many Tivoli Theatres there are in the UK, very many I am sure. Aberdeen had one until 1997 when it closed. I believe the building dates from around 1872, and after closing fell into disrepair. The area in front of the station where this taken reflects past glory and 20th Century decay, with a rather faded appearance today. Unfortunately even some of the more modern buildings have a rather faded appearance, even though they are a few years old.

Recently the area has been given the title of "The Merchant Quarter" and attempts are being made to restore the buildings in the area. The Tivoli is one of the buildings which has been restored. The theatre reopened in late 2013 though I am not sure if the work is completed. Sandi Thom performed there in April this year. An event to which I would certainly have gone if it had not been sold out by the time I knew about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.