St Nicholas Kirk

Today I bagged another dolphin. This one was in front of St Nicholas Kirk. Having bagged the dolphin I took the opportunity to visit the Church. I had intended to post a photo of the window dedicated to the oil industry. I was not very happy with the end result however, so settled for this interior of the west transept.

Most of the church is of fairly modern construction, 18th and 19th century, but the archaeological excavation of the site has revealed structural remains back to the 12th century. The east transept is closed to worship due to the archaeological research. A sign in the entrance indicated it is hoped to reopen the east transept in 2016.

Another brilliant sunny day, though the wind is cool. Although the thermometer indicated 20 degrees I was not convinced the temperature felt as warm as this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.