Plus ça change...

By SooB

Zen Calm

Busy day. Off to get supplies for Brownies*, then more supplies, then doing Brownies for a frantic hour and a half, and that's the day. Today was 'toymaking badge', involving making clothing for their dolls/toys. Aside from all the dresses, dungarees and hats, we also ended up with a snowboarding rabbit and a skiing pony. It's a long way from the nibbled, hand-me-down knitted toys of my youth....

I think the only way I will get through any more brownie sessions is by adopting the zen calm face I see on other brownie leaders, where nothing flaps them.

Unfortunately, my new zen calm attitude is not currently extending to my broadband provider, who have reacted to my telephone complaint of poor connection speeds by requiring me to fill in a ten stage on-line questionnaire and carry out 3 connection speed tests, which in turn require me to download a large piece of software. And all this with a connection speed (tested on a different on-line connection tester) of between 15 and 60kbps. These connection tests, I am told, have to be carried out at three different times of day, avoiding the busy early evening period.

Attempting all of this has taken every part of the day not taken up with Brownies.

Right now, I am very tempted to send them an email suggesting they shove their inadequate broadband speeds where the sun don't shine 3 times over the next 24 hours. Not very zen.


*In case anyone is confused by the references to sticky nutty chocolate desserts, 'Brownies' is the UK name for Girl Guides who are 8-10 years old. And noisy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.