chantler63

By chantler63

Watery Wednesday

At first look, you might think this has nothing to do with water... the main focus is, in fact a book bench, a Dr Seuss book bench in fact. However, in the background you will notice Tower Bridge (London for those not in UK) and you will also know that said bridge goes over the River Thames ie WATER!

I have been tramping the streets of London again with the aim of catching as many of these book benches as I can - they are worth the effort. There is a series of 5o in various parts of London (see the Book Trust website for more details). I went along the South Bank and then into the area around St Paul's Cathedral.

This image is the back of the bench -be sure to look all round each bench so as not to miss anything!

More images of benches added here.

London was very busy - thousands of tourists - but I suppose I was sort of a tourist myself. Another aim of my trip was to see the Kenneth Clarke exhibition 'Civilisation' which is on at Tate Britain until 10th August. This is superb and features many different artists. One of my favourite artists is John Piper and I was looking at his work wondering how the style could be adapted using Photoshop; I will play around some time.

There are lots of other stunning artists/sculptors featured in the exhibition - Cezanne, Seurat, Constable, Rodin, Henry Moore, Graham Sutherland etc etc. If you are in London it really is worth the trip to Millbank to see this wonderful collection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.