But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Person-hole Cover.

Back to the end to end ride, Jane arrived at our first meeting point going sedately; quite appropriate for a journey of this length, she was just two days into a three and a half day journey: a few words of encouragement, a wave to each of the vehicles in the entourage and then off to the next point. The rain had been pretty steady since I had left home and, as I know to my cost, rain, a trike and a sore bum don't make good companions but she looked comfortable for a lady who's been on the road for virtually two days. As the day wore on the weather improved and, at five o'clock, she had 220 miles left to cover in two days and one hour; my worries seem to be unfounded.

Directing lady tricyclists around awkward bits of road is, unfortunately, not conducive to taking photographs of them; hence, today, we have a blip of the politically correct person-hole cover - I feel that the term has a slightly obscene ring to it. Other blippers have been known to collect pictures of these so I feel that it is permissible for me to blip just the one. As a retired engineer, I ponder on the sanity of the person that designed this particular specimen. These things are usually round, and for a very good reason, a circular one cannot, under any circumstances, fall through the hole. They are very heavy (probably to stop yoofs nicking them), so heavy that the obligatory hard hats that workmen wear these days would not be any defence at all if you were standing underneath when one was dropped.

I've just posted yesterday's "Rowan Berries."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.