But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Seed Head.

Down in the country park, in a wild flower meadow that was seeded a couple of years ago, lurks a single specimen of this unfamiliar species. We didn't notice it when it was in flower. I can see from the photograph, but didn’t realise when I was looking at the real thing, that the parachute part of the seed is a web rather than the bristles that I think are on dandelion seeds.

Tomorrow, we travel down to visit Mrs TD’s sister for the week-end, herself is going to a quilt show, I'm taking a bike; now there's a surprise.

I've just heard that Jane has set the Ladies' tricycle Land's End to John o' Groats record at 3 days, 16 hours, 45 minutes and 21 seconds. She will be looking for a lucrative sponsorship deal with the manufacturers of Sudcreme.
The plan is now to have some sleep and then carry on for another 160 miles to set the thousand miles record. Many riders in this situation manage the first stage of the strategy but not the second, I can understand that.


And, finally, I’ve just posted “A Frame of Nectar” from July 15

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.