Another Day

By BlackTulip

A Mexican Daisy

It is a Mexican daisy, definitely. It wasn't corn yesterday, it was wheat. Goodness my brain is getting worse by the day.

We're not allowed daisies in the lawn, so I grow these in the border and they flower all summer long. They remind me that my Cornish great great grandfather took his young family to Pachuca and Real del Monte in Mexico to work as a stonemason in the silver mines in the mid 1850s.

He developed a water system for the town and was presented with an inscribed gold chiming pocket watch, before he returned to Redruth, which a later relative sold. So if anyone knows where it is, it was inscribed with the name Samuel Goldsworthy, and I'd rather like it. I expect it was melted down long ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.