Toothy

Its been a beautiful day here weatherwise and after work I needed a quick walk before going home and headed for our Canal where I have passed this concrete building more times than I care to recount and have never bothered to find out what it is, but Blip has encouraged me to view so many things with more interest than I would ordinarily have had, so I've done a little research and now I know; it's a rarity:

* Rarity: The pillbox is a rare example of a Type 24 pillbox constructed to a two-storey height, incorporating a concrete plinth. There are no other known examples.
* Intactness: The pillbox with plinth is mainly unaltered and complete, and its original use is plainly legible.
* Representative Value: The pillbox illustrates a key point on a former stop line, providing a screened position capable of defending both road and canal, and forming a group with the canal bridge.


The Pillbox may now be used for more nefarious goings on so I didn't feel like entering unarmed!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.