Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

First Filmed Flight

After yesterday's teaser I fitted the gimbal and camera to the quad copter last night and took it out first think this morning for a flight.

What a morning! Bright sunshine, low lying mist. I wasn't sure where to go but ended up by the Glacial Boulder on Cannock Chase. I started the 'copter, it went through a self check, the gimbal flicked back and forth and then settled into a position pointing forward. Moment of truth, the copter lifted skyward, taking images every 5 seconds. I chose this because it is a unique view and one not often seen by humans. We are looking into Sherbrook Valley, with fingers of mist moving up the gulleys that come of the valley floor. I've added a few more images on Flickr.

I have also quickly uploaded an unedited video of another flight from the same place. Please excuse the ugly mug at the beginning and the almost constant view of two of the four rotors. I have already learnt some good lessons by getting things wrong.

**Update** Edited version of the video here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.