Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

The late, late blip show.

I was up early today after four weeks with no students and long lies. I'm teaching a summer school this week in digital photography for 10 - 16 year olds. Getting up after so long with no early starts was a bit of a nightmare. I think the kids probably had the same problem. By 4pm when we finished for the day they had taken a lot of good photos but attention was seriously starting to wane (no, not just mine, theirs as well).

Roz and Maddy came and picked me up after work and we did a couple of things in town before getting home about six-ish. I ended up having a power nap on the couch for half an hour or so. It was after nine when it dawned on me that despite teaching digital photography all day I hadn't actually taken any pictures for blip. Normally I have a shot by early afternoon at the latest si I panicked a bit.

Fortunately by that point Roz and I were playing backgammon. We haven't played much in a few years and had three games in a row the other day. Roz beat me in all of them. Tonight was sweet revenge. I lulled her into a false sense of security by being half asleep and not really paying much attention. Then, when she already had three pieces off the board I managed to take one of her pieces and quickly got into this position. Not much later my end was filled with my pieces and she couldn't get back on the board so I scored quite a convincing victory. Just as well after the hammering she gave me the other day.

We got this set from Roz's mum when she went to turkey a couple of years back. We had a set already but this one was so much nicer and more ornate. The pieces were misplaced somewhere on moving house. They are in a bag somewhere but we're not sure where. Fortunately it meant we finally had a use for the Go pieces since I don't know anyone else who plays it. If only we could find a use for the other couple of hundred...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.