Another Day In The Life

Wes Montgomery - A Day In The Life

A worker leaves their hard-hat on the side of the road. It's been there all day. One can only wonder whether they left it there on purpose, or simply forgot it. I fantasise an epiphany having surged through its previous owner that they finally woke up from a nightmare and decided to leave through their own choice. Nobody else could see it but themselves and through their own power have pushed on through to the "otherside", ie. gone on to live their life. The blood-sucking vampire that was called Fear was banished from their soul and they could see the path forward.

I have plenty of distractions in my life, I just hope at least one of them will lead me somewhere "higher". I don't know how people do it, continue on without a care in the world or without knowledge. It would be nicer to be an animal sometimes, to be free from mindful worries and follow a pre-determined system like hunting or seasonal migration. But then again, I am free, just fearful of making up my mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.