Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Wedding

No-one would ever say I was a religious person. I was in the church choir when I was a boy as my parents thought I was a good boy soprano, but my motivation was more about how lucrative Saturdays could be if we sang at a few weddings, and brushing up my Origami skills during the Sunday sermon using the hymn sheets (I can still impress people with two of my Origami items). Once my voice broke, I was out. I do, however, love to hear church bells. They take me straight back to 1970 as an excited young 17 year-old moving to Northallerton to my first job. The lodgings I stayed in were next to the main church in the High Street and every Thursday evening they used to have bell ringing practise. I still enjoyed it even though it drowned out 'Top of the Pops'.

When I first moved to this village and for a long time afterwards, the bell ringers in the local church used to practise every Monday night and we could tell that they improved as they went along. Today there was a wedding in the village church and the bell ringers enthusiastically rang the bells at the start and end of the service.

I think they should go back to practising once a week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.