GEORDIE PLATES

I had plans for today - plans which came to nothing.

I had intended going to Nei'ls house and then we both would walk to Newcastle - same route as last week - and have a meal in Cafe Rouge. However Neil advised me this morning that he was hungover - he was at a birthday party last night. So I decided to go it alone - walk from Neil's house to town and do some shopping.

My daughter Becky phoned around 1.30pm and we talked for an hour. When I was ready to leave the house it was chucking it down with rain so I decided not to do the walk. Just get the bus straight to Newcastle.

Luckily the rain didn't last too long and it was dry, but dull, while I was in town. I went to the Grainger Market where I got some bargain fruit. 4 punnets of strawberries for £1. 10 nectarines for 50p. 2 big bags of plums for £1. Also some cherries, apricots and tomatoes. And some dressed crab from the Fish Market.

Today the Forum Challenge is Foody Friday. So instead of a photo of salad nicoise which I would have eaten at Cafe Rouge I have blipped a couple of Geordie plates which I spotted in the window of the Tourist Board.

The one on the left says why aye man. This is the Geordie way of saying yes in an enthusiastic way. Use it anytime you want to agree with someone - man or woman - without resorting to a boring "yes". If you fancy a musical accompanyment listen to ......Why aye man - by Mark Knopfler

The plate on the right says why aye pet. Pet is the quintessential Geordie address to females and was popularised by the characters Terry and Bob in the television series The Likely Lads and the programme title Auf Wiedersehen, Pet.



Steps so far today ( timed at 9pm ) --- only 5,402.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.