RobinBaneville

By RobinBanneville

"Após a chuva"

Hmmm..?? ... I wasn't really expecting to catch much of a sunset today. It was overcast and pisindan* for most of the afternoon. The rain contributed to the South Show packing up early ... and me wondering if I could find a frog to star in my blip for today ... But by closely watching the satellite images on the internet, I thought that I might just see light at the end of the day ... And so I did ... :o)
---
*(Pisindan: The Portuguese for rain is "chuva" - pronounced "shoe-va".
A year or two back I was teaching a new Portuguese driver one of the laundry rounds at work. Neither of us understood a single word each other was talking about, but every time it rained, the trainee would say, "Ha. Chuva." and indicate towards the sky. I soon discovered what he meant by chuva and told him that in Guernsey we said, "Pisindan." A day went by and we had a drop off in a busy street. The trainee got out of the van just as it started to rain. Then without a care in the world, in front of about 30 shoppers of all age and gender, points to the sky and with a big grin on his face, shouts to me over the van, "Pisindan !! ... Pisindan !!")

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.