Viator Fabula

By Heliflyer

Heading North

I seem to be doomed every time I travel north at the moment. I left loads of time to catch the train from Lancaster to connect with the Edinburgh to Aberdeen East Coast train, only to hit Lancaster traffic travelling at about 2 mph.

So I missed the train, caught a later one, missed my First Class booking and ended up on the rubbish ScotRail commuter trains which are a sign of what will happen if we get independence. Small tables, no power, uncomfortable seats and no aircon.

It's as though we design stuff in this country and produce an Alpha Version - it works, but is very much a prototype. Then every other country takes our ideas and vastly improves on them, and produces not just Beta versions but Completed Version 1.0 then Upgrade 2.0 and so on, while we stick with the Alpha version which should never have been released into the wild at all! (Hmm, a lot of computer geeky terms coming out there).

The nice bit was travelling from Glasgow to Aberdeen through the Perthshire and Stirlingshire countryside - very pretty indeed. That improved morale somewhat.

I tire of travel and its complications in this country. It was easier travelling in parts of Africa than here! Whine, moan, whinge. Ok, I need to SHUT UP - no-one died!

That's my benchmark. Things may be a pain, or inconvenient, but did anyone die? If not, its not THAT serious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.