40 days to go

It is sometimes good to be proved wrong.

In my second term as a South of Scotland MSP , working out of Dumfries , I was asked to support to saving of Moat Brae in the town, the place that inspired JM Barrie to icreate Peter Pan. I could see the historic connection but the building itself was in an extreme state of dereliction and even the local housing association - which eventually owned it - wanted to pull it down and replace it with much needed accommodation in the town centre.

I was talked round to a different view by Dame Barbara Kelly , one of the most effective and formidable voices for the South West whom I am very pleased to call a friend . She persuaded me that I should get behind the project.

More than four years later I paid my second visit to Moat Brae today. On my first I was horrified by the state of the building. This time I was amazed by the success of the initial phase of restoration which has stabilised the structure ,made it wind and watertight and replaced those parts that were rotting or destroyed, The Trust has also started to draw in support for the second phase which will make the place a centre for education and children's literature as well as a key tourist attraction.

They have also just taken possession of a big piece of Council owned land by the river next to the garden and intend to create a "Neverland" in it. Peter Pan himself ( whose statue was stolen from its plinth behind the house some time ago though it has now been returned) will I am sure stand benevolent guard over what is a wonderful and magical idea .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.