A Star

Looking for and I quote, 'abundant' amounts of butterflies in the Strawberry Banks Nature Reserve, I think I had chosen the wrong day, or time or weather!

This poor Common Blue butterfly kept being furtively crept up on in a meadow and then it would fly off. Not to be out done I would appear camera in hand in crawling in and amongst the grasses, wild flowers and marjoram, David Bellamy style and try to get a shot. Nose to nose!

Not the best day today - scratched with briars, waded streams (no wellies here!) and had to be rescued by a very dishy kind cyclist who I did apologise to for ruining his timings as he was speeding down this remote path in an isolated wood. Hey- ho. Felt even more guilty as his bike actually broke on his way back to find me half an hour later with a map! Very very sweet of him though and quite unexpected! What a star!

I have met some exceptionally kind and considerate people over the last few weeks and to name just one example a couple in Rutland offered me their sandwiches to give me some food before my 2 hour travels home as I hadn't eaten all day. Quite unexpected and very lovely of them. I did decline but it did make a big impression on me. There are a lot of good people about and maybe it's only the small minority who make up the dire news that fills our screens every night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.