LightWave

By LightWave

Little Frog

Another froggy, different species this time. These little tree frogs are everywhere at the moment. They are really small - well under an inch - and they like to sun themselves on broad, flat leaves such as milkweed and burdock. (This one is on milkweed, so I can consider it part of my milkweed project.) I even find them in the vegetable garden, sitting on the beans or the arugula. I have a soft spot for frogs, so they are quite welcome - don't particularly want to find one in my salad though. Quite often we will find one on the upstairs window at night with its little suckered feet clinging onto the screens - makes me wonder if I stepped outside and shone a light would I see the outside of the house covered with tree frogs?

Anyway. Last day of July. As if on cue, I heard my first cicada this morning and the crickets have started chirping. There is one outside the window as I write. The frogs, however, although highly visible, are now silent. What a difference from the early summer when we were treated to the frog chorus every evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.