carliewired

By carliewired

Early Morning at the Airport

Light creeps back into
the Thompson Valley over
my holy mountains

~ carliewired

I am on my way to Calgary to visit a dear friend of many years. I'm using our local airport that has created for me yet another reason to drive to Kelowna instead. I can't fathom why we are so poorly served here. Few flights in and out and we still must walk out across the tarmac in all weather to board the plane. It was like that in 1974 when I moved to Kamloops 40 years ago. Can we not turn the page on that, people? Recently, my favourite airline has downsized our service here from jets to prop planes. Arriving in Calgary we are parked at one extreme end of the airport and must again cross the tarmac and walk endlessly to get back to the main terminal to collect luggage. Not quite 3 weeks from surgery, I really could have done without the extra exercise today. Although I am only a 10 minute drive from the Kamloops airport I have entirely run out of reasons to support this airport. I'm done! From now on it will be drive to the Kelowna airport (2 hours, 15 minutes) or give up flying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.