6 Eyes

I have been in a bit of denial for the past few months year about my aging eyes. I've been trying to act as though it's perfectly normal to wear two pairs of glasses at once: one for seeing the television and another for seeing the remote. That my husband wouldn't notice that when I'm watching TV at night, I have one pair of spectacles balanced on my nose, the other on top of my head. That perhaps my arms can stretch out just a little bit more.

I've avoided going to the optometrist because I didn't want to be told I need (oh, it kills me to type this) bifocals. But I've finally tired of the eyeglass juggling act, and my husband has convinced me that the multi-lens look is not a sexy one unless one is an insect.

So today, I had my eye exam, took the news like the middle-aged grown-up that I am, and ordered just one pair of glasses with special grown-up lenses. I'm secretly relieved that I'll be able see everything and that I'll only have one pair of glasses to look for when they're inevitably misplaced.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.