Keith B

By keibr

The final day of the holiday!

Today we got a first coat of paint on the whole of Lotta's deck. Janet blipped the occasion so I left my image of that event on my flickr.
My blips of the last five weeks have all been tagged with the magic word "holiday" but this is the last blip with that tag, at least for a while. Yes, tomorrow it's back to work!
It has been a truly marvellous summer here in mid-Sweden. Day after day, week after week, of blazing days of sunshine and we've enjoyed the summer immensely, doing a lot of fun things together and with our visitors.
We had a lot of jobs saved for rainy days and one of them got done but otherwise the rainy weather confined itself to short thunderstorms caused by the fantastic hot weather! There's been a lot of action and not so many blips from home so here is a blip by our front step, where we sit to catch the last of the sun and sometimes to have a beer, in this case the final beer of the holiday.
It's traditional here to say that I am looking forward to going back to work, reinvigorated by the long holiday and ready for all the challenges that work at Mid Sweden University offers. However, that would be a lie.
I like my job, which I find interesting and stimulating, and I like the people I work with, and the fact that I have a job, and the monthly input into my bank account, and I'm sure that once I'm back I will be happy, but right now I'd rather have another couple of weeks of holiday.
This holiday will also be remembered as the Tai Chi summer and a definite challenge is going to be keeping up with my training once work starts. If you see a somewhat podgy guy doing some strange slow dance on his own in the corner of Härnösand's library don't worry - it'll just be me keeping my training going!
Update - apparently this is blip 300 - I feel very happy to have made it this far and hope to create many more blips! Without my work I wouldn't have discovered blip because they sent me to the conference where Joe T talked about Blip. Maybe work is OK!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.