Hunter-Gatherer at Work

Raspberries Galore
No longer using the “holiday” tag. First day back at work! It was a slow day but the cold seems to be finally letting go and at the end of the working day I went out to pick raspberries. 
The cold wet summer seems to have been perfect for these berries. There were just so many!! After two hours of picking I had around three litres.  Another hour of sorting and I had four sets of good quality berries and three small packets of blended raspberry in the freezer.  That’s seven winter breakfasts where we’ll be eating raspberries from the garden.
As you can see the picking and sorting has to pleasurable in itself for this to work, but it is. Picking is quiet and meditative and as I picked I could hear a small child and adult picking somewhere nearby and also a wild creature rooting around, also probably eating berries.
My inner hunter-gather comes to the fore as summer draws towards its end.
3 more pictures on my flickr. The extra photo is on the same theme but a much softer image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.