Pop Art Burritos

Here's my favorite recipe for Burritos. It's my favorite because it involves almost NO cooking, it is delicious, and you can freeze them and nuke em for a good snack or meal when you, again, don't feel like cooking!

Servings: Depends on how big you make the burritos and how much stuff you put in them but I make about 15-16 burritos with this.

Ingredients:
2 cups rice
4 cans (15 ounce) black beans
2 cans pinto beans
1 can whole kernel corn
1 can diced tomatoes with green chiles
(the chiles gives just the right amount of spicyness for a mild, but yummy burrito)
1 pount Pepper Jack cheese, shredded
16 large flour tortillas

1) Make two cups of rice (I use brown rice) - This part is the cooking bit! - if you use Minute rice it's even faster. Let the rice cool before you mix it into the rest.
2) Open all the cans of beans and rinse them in a strainer under cold water.
3) Shred the cheese if it's not already.
4) Combine all the ingredients into a large bowl.
5) Divide the mixture evenly among the tortillas and roll up. I make a few smaller and a few larger, so that I can pull one out of the freezer depending on how hungry I am.

To freeze: wrap each burrito individually in plastic wrap, place into a large freezer bag, and freeze.

Reheat as needed in the microwave for lunch or snacks! Ours takes about 5-6 minutes and it's best to flip it half way through. The very, very, edges of the tortilla get a little hard when nuked but the insides are delicious!

NOTES:
-you could add meat or fake meat but I don't
-add more spicyness accordingly
-add anything else you like in burritos - I put in green onions if I have them
-when I say a "large" bowl, I mean a LARGE bowl - I have to use the big salad bowl we got for a wedding present - it's bigger than my biggest mixing bowl
-you can tweak to your tastes - I like more corn so I substitute a can of corn for a can of black beans and I use two cans of the tomatoes with chiles
-my health conscious hubby thinks a whole pound of cheese is too much so you could cut back to 1/2 or whatever you like.
-drain the corn and tomatoes of excess liquid, but don't rinse them
-I use a silicone spatula like thing to stir it up so that it doesn't crush the beans - I am not sure it works better than a wooden spool but it makes me feel like it does.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.