todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Tough it out...

I did my first 5k run for a couple of weeks at the gym this evening. I was 2 seconds over my 'must beat' time - and knew I hadn't tried hard enough.

I had to take a sneaky shot of this young man, battling valiantly and immediately earning my respect. He was pushing this box, which weighs at least 110kg, from one end of the gym to the other. Pretty much until he could push no more. The picture right after this one shows him lying on the floor, gathering himself before he was able to sit up.

Ofcourse this level of effort isn't for everyone. But, even if not of a physical nature, I admire anyone who can tough it out - especially when it's far easier to give up.

No matter what our challenges are, there's a lesson in there for us all.

I'll make those 2 seconds up next time I'm in the gym. See if I don't. Folk like this young man inspire me all the time to give of my best.

Today outof10? A persistent 8.4 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.