todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Oh Captain, my Captain...

I've been tearful all day, finally succumbing to a proper cry in the privacy of my own office.

People die every day, by their own hand. It's always sad and I hear about it and read about it often. I'm a mental health first aider which means I am trained to engage people experiencing mental ill health and even to respond to suicidal behaviour or intention. So, I get it...

But the death of Robin Williams today has had a real impact. He was the hero in my favourite film of all time - Dead Poet's Society. He lit up every film he was in and I couldn't take my eyes off him when he was on screen. A true master craftsman.

I managed to hold it together until I read a brave, heartfelt blog from Alistair Campbell, who himself battles depression.

I felt a bit daft for shedding tears but they were real. And they weren't just for Robin Williams. They were for everyone who struggles, or who has struggled, with what I believe to be one of our last taboos.

This song has been in my head all day . It came on in the car and felt somehow significant.

Perhaps we all have a murderous desire for love. I know I have.

Today outof10? An emotional 7 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.