RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

MonoMonday~Food

I have shot, and shown this, my favorite Mexican breakfast food many times, but knew I would feature it here for MonoMonday. Bolillo is the most amazing bread form I have yet encountered. Granted, I have not been to France, but Mexico's bread and pastries have been influenced by the French since they were briefly occupied by them in the mid 1860's. This crusty creation is sold by the hundreds every day from this stall in the mercado. There are others as well, but I have been a loyal follower of this particular establishment since moving out closer to Playa La Ropa and losing my daily home delivery.

The young woman shown here takes my five pesos every time I stop by, after I receive my paper bag with two hot bolillos from the attendants manning the tongs. There is nothing better than fresh-from-the-market bolillo. Most days this area is jammed with people just like me following that delicious fresh-baked-bread smell to the best food in Zihuatanejo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.