Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

"Junior" Lands At Sentry Tree

I believe we've come full circle...today our eaglet landed at the same tree I photographed his parents on over 2 years ago. It was a delight to see him up close and personal. The tree is quite high, and sits behind the Church of Latter Day Saints, on the edge of Rock Creek Golf Course. A friend of mine from choir told me about the eagles several years ago...he kept telling me, to just look for that lone tall fir tree. Luckily I found them on my first attempt. Today, seeing our fledgling land on the same tree...just made me happy.

"Junior" as he's been aptly named, is spending more and more time in the air.
Dennis Manzer, who has headed up the daily ritual of dawn to dusk observation, feels certain that any day the family of 3 will leave our area and head north. He predicts it will only take them 3 days to make the trip up to British Columbia, where they will teach Junior how to fend for himself. Once they feel certain he can do that, they will fly away and leave him alone. He will then have to forage for himself, find a mate, and hopefully return to our beautiful state.


More photos are on FLICKR....

Don't miss the "thunderheads" at sunset in Portland OR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.