Mariasme

By Mariasme

Possum in the guava tree

I've seen this possum (well I think it's the same one; could be a relative I suppose) a few times; but I've always heard her first. She scrabbles across the top of the car port to reach the neighbour's guava tree. Those guava leaves must be delicious. I wonder if she's eating the guava buds too. If so, no guavas this spring.

When I first realised she was sharing our land, I hadn't seen her, but had noticed her paw print on the the dusty windscreen of our car, when we arrived back from a holiday last January. Lately I've heard her (much louder and heavier than alighting myna birds or pigeons) landing on the roof of the car port and then making for the fence and then the branches of the tree. She doesn't seem scared of me; just looks at me as if to say, "Yes?".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.