My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Not What it Seemed!.......

..........When I first saw this sign I had the idea that there might be a little bridge for Hedgehogs to safely cross the road! - but no, nothing so romantic - it was named after a bridge across the North Forty Foot Drain, which had a metal frame with spikes resembling a hedgehog - disappointing

I would have been tempted to give the sign a good clean if I'd had cleaning materials in the car!

I had been to the Pain Management Clinic at Boston which they hold in a Private Section of the Hospital - this is good as it is on MY side of the town so avoids having to drive right through the centre which is usually chaotic! I was rather impressed! I was about 15 mins early but taken through to the Consultant almost immediately - very efficient, pleasant and easy to talk to. Loads of questions - loads of answers! It was decided in the end to try Morphine Patches to see if they will help - just hope I'm not allergic to them as well!!! There is a set of injections he could give but they clash with something else I take - he said to discuss with my GP - not very helpful there as there are never any appointments with him available!

Anyway, quite enough of all that! - afterwards I decided to go for a bit of a drive around to see what I could see - not a lot - more a question of seeing what wasn't there!!

Hedgehog Bridge School was built in 1880 by the North-East Holland Fen School Board for 95 children. It opened on 4 April 1881, became a Council School in 1903, and a County School about 1947. It finally closed in December 1969, and was demolished in 2010.

.A row of 29 brick and slate cottages were built between the North Forty Foot Bank and the hamlet of Brothertoft by Major John Cartwright to accommodate the workers of his red brick woad mill - (* see below ) - in the late 18th century. After Cartwright left Brothertoft for London, the hamlet of Isatica fell into ruin and disappeared. (wonder if its hiding somewhere!!)

*Isatis tinctoria, with woad or glastum as the common name, is a flowering plant in the family Brassicaceae. It is commonly called dyer's woad. It is occasionally known as Asp of Jerusalem.
This place was then called Isatica which is Latin for woad - not as good as Hedgehog Bridge though!! - the only things I saw were one house and this sign! - I don't think I will consider moving there!!

Not a bad morning at all - still windy but with more sun than clouds - temperature at 65 Deg.F. at noon.

Enjoy the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.