Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

On a clear day you can see forever.

Dear Diary,

I climbed to the top of Jockey Cap in Fryeburg, Maine. Haven't done that in 15 years and although it doesn't take a lot of time, it is still a bit of a steep scramble over roots and rocks. My knees weren't happy about the outing but I had my trusty walking stick to help and I made it.

It was a bit hazy with heat so the view wasn't as clear as it can be but the 360 degree vista is still breathtaking. The lovely memorial to Admiral Peary, a former resident of Fryeburg, was dedicated in 1938 by his wife and daughter. It shows the elevations and identifies the mountains you are looking at. Well worth the effort to get up there. I wanted to see if I could still do it and really wanted to have a photograph from the top for this journal. I rewarded myself with a strawberry shortcake cookie, again, well worth the exertion it took to make the climb to the top.

Enthusiasm is the mother of effort, and without it nothing great was ever achieved.

Ralph Waldo Emerson


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.