An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

'At the Roadside...'

Wednesday 7th August -early, very early...

...continued from yesterday's striking sunset Blip, as I trudged, with cars screaming past me at up to 70mph, I looked behind me. And up.

The moon, not yet in its super-moon status at that point has lit up a shimmering mackerel sky. This silvery light, seemingly the subject for endless pointless 1970's pop songs, looked quite magical, whilst I, appropriately (not!) dressed in only shorts and shirt yet soaked in perspiration felt quite unmagical as I still had 3 or 4 miles left to trudge home. To a hot drink, food and a shower. And BED.

I walked on a bit then succumbed, when I saw a fence post by the side of the road. I had no tripod, after all. HOW was I going to get a decent capture of this sky?

The normal lens' angle of view did it no justice. Stick on the fisheye and it was transformed. I (just about) got a usable (perhaps) handheld effort with an exposure of 1 sec, f3.5 and iso 6400. Hmmm.

I then put down my rucksack on the verge and had a thought.

This is the result of that thought. Looks quite cool in LARGE

Laying the camera on the rucksack and using the self timer. Pointing up and generally in the right direction. Couldn't compose the shot as the viewfinder was against the material. The buffeted wind from the cars has even moved one of the grasses during the exposure, lit by the headlights.

Well, the "other" photographic site I contribute to, well, they loved it. But they are based in mainland Europe and no comments are made, (just as well, as they don't speak English!) it's all 'likes' and views. It hit their Spotlight and became one of my most popular images on it. And the site has nearly 50,000 members!

Let's get one thing straight here. I'm married to Blip. I constantly nourish and nurture and am in for life. Communication, humour and sensitivity are vital.

That other site is my mistress. I drop in occasionally, only when it suits me and wow it with shiny new presents. I say nothing. I soak up what I can get and then avoid revisiting for as long as I like...And of course, it must remain nameless.

Lens is Samyang 8mm fisheye for DX

After a long sleep and another bus trip down to Fordingbridge much later in the day, I had a text from the lovely Blipper JinglyJan. She had sent it at 3pm. It was now 8pm!! Ermmmm. Next bus back up to Salisbury and a very pleasant, if rather annoyingly unproductive evening in a hotel restaurant catching up with her all about Blip and Blippers. Your ears itching anyone?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.