misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

After drastically pruning the rose-scented geranium this afternoon, a very large, fake, hummingbird flew over... a lucky capture on my part-- wouldn't you say?
I welcomed the light but steady rain that finally appeared this morning. I felt the need to get some transplants into the ground while the rain was not too hard. The forecast is for rain all day, thunderstorms and rain all day tomorrow. So, with the supervision of two of my cats I transplanted a few rugosa rose canes and a half dozen iris bulbs/corms. We all got wet. But I felt quite satisfied.
The garden is so happy and so is the soil. All is well.
I dug up a potato plant yesterday and the soil was dry all the way down to the last spud.
I am sending this off in the afternoon when the deck has dried, rain well-stopped... so much for rain all day.
No! I am not complaining about the rain after hearing all the rain blipping complaints of yesterday from the UK. I hope Bertha is well gone.
This makes life hard for the earthworms who have to drill their way through stiff clods of clay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.