Are We In Arizona?

No, these are not sagarro cactus shown against the desert sky.
Early in the garden this morning I enjoyed the newly slanting late summer sunlight.
I bent down low and captured both the drying mullein seed stalks & the lovely blue sky (to paste into my scrapbook/journal for viewing in winter when grey skies rule).

When the world was younger -- this past spring, I blipped the green felted leaves of the new mullein plants. Their not -so-tall stalks were covered with light yellow blossoms, and now the seed heads are drying at each point where a flower once bloomed. Finches come swooping at the evening feeding time. That's quite a lot of bird seed on each stalk. Better for me to harvest them than to allow all those seeds to spread all over the landscape. I have a number of first year young plants in various place now. They are biennials and for all I know they grow in Arizona, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.