misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Seed Collecting

Early this morning I roamed around the garden along with the 3 cats who were so excited to be gardening they ran, and chased, and ran some more.
After deadheading a few plants I realized I could should be seed-collecting and saving for the future. I hoped that a blip of flowers going or gone to seed might make an interesting blip. Well, I collected quite a variety then put them in a cardboard box in the garage hoping hidden creatures would leave before I brought the box inside to sort and lay out for a photo.
I think the plan was a good one and that it would make a type of botanical 'live print'. But, evening arrived and the natural light was gone before I even set up a cleared space and laid the selected seed pods, fruits, etc on a grid board that gives an idea of size.
So, in general this blip is what I had in mind although it is not as sharp and interesting as I hoped. I will try again in the next few days to see if I can capture a better looking collection.
This blip also adds to documenting my blipped Garden Journal for 2013. So, what's in this photo?
Top Left and then down-- 2 big Rugosa rose hips, oregano seed heads, 2 brown pods Baptisia, False Indigo, Nasturtium seeds with an orange flower, Gravetye clematis seed head.
middle Row-- next to the rose petals is Campanula seed head, Rosa Glauca hips, Tree Peony dry pod on its green leaf,
Top Right-- Sedum: Autumn Joy flower, Siberian irisBearded iris blown open pod and seeds are lost, 3 Chive flower heads with a few black seeds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.