ztuzzer

By ztuzzer

Top Companion

This is my dog, Pepsi. She's a brown labrador, who's beautiful, energetic and intelligent - following all the Sturrock traits. Over the past year, having not visited home at all to concentrate on my studies, I have really missed her. In fact, I have missed her the most. Dogs are true companions, they really are a man's best friend. I think, quite frankly, it's because they can't talk. There's something in having a companionship that is solely based on acts. The relationship is no less real than a human one, we do things for each other, but it is all so much more simple. There's no malcontent; the relationship is the basis of the relationship. It's all we need and it's all we want from one another.

I remember the one time we did fall out, I was really young and she injured me by accident in the release of her pent up energy. I cried and she yelped for forgiveness, but my mum shoed her away. I ignored her for the rest of the day, despite her constantly prodding for attention. Eventually, after almost twelve hours of being ignored, she ran up to the bottom of the sofa where I laid, rested her head and whined and whined. She was begging for forgiveness, and I couldn't say no, after all, really it had just been me being sour, for she hadn't actually done anything wrong. It was one of the most heartfelt things I've witnessed in animal interaction, the relationship was in jeopardy and that's all she cared about. It wasn't for food, it wasn't for a walk and it wasn't for attention, there was a moment, there, in which we really understood one another. Sometimes, it's all said best, when nothing is said at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.