Price-Nations

By 5nations

Phew

After a week of:

high temperatures
shivering
sweating
vomiting
very messy nappies
stomach bugs
sick bowls
doctors
emergency doctors
tonsillitis
anti-biotics
paracetamol
ibuprofen

I think the Price-Nation household is finally on the mend? Fingers crossed and touching a lot of wood!

This doll was sent to me from America from my Uncle Arthur about 26 years ago. I got her for christmas along with 'my first sewing machine' which was the bees knees! I called her 'baby' and she's one of only a few surviving gifts from my Uncle that I have managed to keep.
When she arrived, she had a pull chord on the back of her neck which made her say things. I have no idea what it was that she said as after only a short time my brothers broke her voice (gits!) If you want to know how - the evil sods played piggy in the middle with me, throwing her. So now she was mute.... but not only was she mute, she was also deaf as she had ears but her hat was covering them. So when I was little I cut her some ear holes so she could hear!
Then my dad tried a brain operation on her to try and get her voice back, but unfortunately this just resulted in her having to have horrendous blue stitching around her neck.

But still I loved her! And now Honor has taken a very big shine to her.... BUT after 26 years of being pulled around I think i'm going to find Honor one of her own as I don't think Baby will last another 26 years otherwise? Or maybe at the ripe old age of 31 I really should let go of the doll and let Honor have her????

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.