Torrential downpour

Some spectacular clouds around today but I didn't manage to capture any of them only the impact of the rain that fell from them. For reasons unknown to us the downpipe in this shot serves our flat roof and that of our neighbours, but all the water comes down over our side of the roof and on to our bit of the lower flat roof. Which is why there is what might appear to be a living roof on our bit of this flat roof and nothing at all on our neighbour's roof. It is about time I cleared this lot away.

We followed this storm all the way to Ramsgate in the afternoon, catching it up just as we entered the town. Interesting that, we were travelling at around 60-70 mph so that storm must have also been travelling at a similar speed. Storm chasing was one of the reasons I wasn't able to get a better shot!

We were in Ramsgate to meet up with an old school friend whom I had not seen for 30 years or more. We went to infant and junior school together in Shropshire and his mum and my mum grew up on the same street so were friends too. At 11 he went to a grammar school and I went to the secondary modern but we kept in touch throughout our teenage years.

I was prompted to find out where he was by an article in a local Shropshire newspaper which refered to the family and gave me the impetus to track him down. I knew he lived in Thanet somewhere but it took many attempts to find where he lived. But it was worth it and we had a very enjoyable afternoon talking to him and his wife. We'll see where it leads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.