Treasure Everywhere

By RobT

Acts of Caffeinated Kindness

An otherwise uneventful day was brightened up today by two strangely similar acts of kindness. But I captured neither of them on camera so this write-up is nothing to do with the accompanying emergency self portrait.

1) At work this morning, I was trying to get a cup of coffee out of the machine (the GOOD coffee machine, the one on the second floor that does proper espressos) but it had just started its long and noisy automatic cleaning cycle and as I was running late for a meeting, I gave up on it and decided to come back later... 5 minutes later, the very nice, friendly, smiley cleaning lady who had observed me in the kitchen not getting my morning caffeine fix tracked me down to my meeting, in a room on a different floor, to bring me an espresso! What a lovely gesture!

2) At lunchtime when my Pret cheese and ham toastie was taking slightly longer than it should have done, the server came out from behind the counter and offered me a free coffee! She didn't need to (I'm a reasonably patient customer) but I accepted the offer.

... oh, hang on -- maybe I'm just looking REALLY TIRED today...?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.