Keith B

By keibr

Serendipity - and the world of fonts

The main book I'm reading just now is a fun look at fonts and their history, Just My Type, by Simon Garfield. Given that most fonts originated in the pre-digital world there is a lot of information about how it all worked before digital fonts arrived on the scene. But digital has almost totally taken over so that world of drawers filled with letters, and frames used to create pages set in their mirror image has almost completely disappeared now.
So imagine my surprise when I dropped into Järnsta cafe for a coffee, just before it closed and as I looked around I found a room filled with presses, fonts and much of the paraphernalia of pre-digital printing.
There was a poster set up for printing with the sunlight glancing of the metal type and illuminating the lino cut images. It looked so beautiful, to me anyway, that I knew I'd found today's blip.
As you can see it is a mirror image of the finished product. If you want to know what it says, how it looks, you can work it out from this picture, or you can take a look at the printed poster on flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.